Curriculum Changes and Instructional Discipline Committees

Instructional Discipline Committees (IDCs) meet to review pedagogy and curriculum for college-wide standardization. All full-time faculty and staff with instructional responsibilities are members of the appropriate committee. Full-time faculty and staff may serve on more than one IDC.

Following a three-year rotation, the appropriate College-wide Dean, or his/her designee, will hold an election for a chairperson of each IDC. This rotation is presented below. The chairperson shall serve a three-year term, unless elected to serve as the Curriculum Committee chair, at which time the IDC chair will remain IDC chair until their term as Curriculum Committee chair is complete. Division chairs are eligible to serve as IDC chairs.

Rotating Instructional Discipline Committee Chair Elections

Fall 2019 & every third year after Fall 2020 & every third year after Fall 2021 & every third year after

Business Health Sciences Mathematics, Physics and Engineering

Computer Science/BOMTHistoryNatural SciencesEnglishSocial and Behavioral ScienceProfessional ServicesProfessional ServicesManufacturingTransportation

The IDCs will meet during the fall and spring semesters; the IDC chairperson may call additional meetings as necessary.

The IDCs will consist of all full-time faculty and staff members teaching within the appropriate discipline. The IDCs responsibilities include: developing Torch exams; reviewing General Education Core Competencies; reviewing learning objectives in order to eliminate duplication; reviewing student learning-outcomes; developing instructional discipline specific goals and objectives; completing Institutional Effectiveness Reviews; reviewing syllabi for standardization; reviewing and recommending degree plans for each major; reviewing and recommending curriculum and/or program changes; reviewing and determining course textbooks, and participating in the program review process.

All full-time faculty members, full-time staff with instructional responsibilities, and adjunct faculty members may submit recommendations for curriculum and/or course modifications to the respective IDC chairperson. The IDC chairperson is responsible for submitting a formal motion for proposed modifications to all full-time faculty and staff members who teach within the respective discipline. Only full-time faculty and full-time staff members who teach within a respective discipline may vote; for course specific changes only full-time faculty members who have taught the course within the previous two years may vote. All full-time faculty/staff members have one vote with decisions determined by college-wide majority. Adjunct faculty are encouraged to attend and contribute to discussions but cannot vote on motions; if no full-time faculty exist for proposed changes involving a course, decisions are made by a majority vote of all full-time faculty and staff members on the respective IDC.

Responsibilities of the IDC chairperson include: receive and maintain a record of all proposed program, curriculum and course changes; initiate formal motions on proposed program curriculum and course changes; organize additional meetings when necessary; keep a formal voting record of all motions; inform the IDC of voting results; complete and submit Curriculum Modification Forms for proposed modifications which pass by college-wide majority to the appropriate College-Wide Dean; record and distribute formal minutes of each meeting and/or vote to all IDC committee members and to the appropriate College-Wide Dean.

IDC chairpersons must provide written notification to all college-wide IDC members eligible to vote on a motion, one week prior to each vote. IDC chairpersons may elect to use distance learning facilities, email or telephone conferencing in lieu of travel for meeting and voting purposes.

In the event of a tie-vote on course specific modifications, all members of the appropriate IDC will determine if a proposal is passed. If a tie vote occurs by all members of an IDC, the appropriate College-Wide Dean will determine if a proposal is submitted to the Curriculum Committee

IDC Committee Structure:

Business

Chair Elected 2019 - Wade Nixon

BUS

ECO

Computer Science/BOMT

Chair Elected 2017 - Mike Hagood

ACT

CIS

OAD

DPT

ETP

English

Chair Elected 2019 - Jimmy Ellenburg

ENG

COM

RDG

Humanities and Speech

Chair Elected 2019 - Carrie Williams

ART

MUS

PHL

THR

REL

SPA SPH

IDS

100

MUP

MUL

SPC

Health Sciences

Chair Elected 2014 - Monica Muncher

EMS

EMP

NUR

PHB

SUR

CLT EMP

History

Chair Elected 2014 – Angie Lazarus

Social and Behavioral Science

Chair Elected 2017 - Emily Rasberry

ANT

CRJ

POL

PSY SOC

ORI

Manufacturing

Chair Elected 2017 – Toby Taylor

ACR

AUT

CNC

DDT

ELT|

ETC

ILT

INT

MTT

WDT

WKO

REN

EDT

Mathematics, Physics, & Engineering

Chair Elected 2017 - Allison Hadder

EGR

MAH

MTH

PHY

Natural Sciences

Chair Elected 2016 – Nancy Earnest

AST

BIO

 CHM

FOR

PHS

HED

PED

Professional Services

Chair Elected 2016 - Robyn Houston

BAR

CHD

CIT

cos

Transportation

Chair Elected 2014 - Chad Bryant

TRK

VTR

Technical Division Live Work (Reference ACCS Policy: 710.01)

Bevill will comply with ACCS Policy 710.01. The board authorizes the college to offer live work when the instructional program requires such projects for the acquisition of career and technical skills leading to employment provided it does not compete with private enterprise.